kitImage2About the historical society

The Leongatha and District Historical Society meets monthly, on the second Wednesday at 8pm, at the Leongatha Mechanics’ Institute, next to the Memorial Hall in McCartin Street.



Current office bearers are:

President, Robert Sage

Vice president, John Hyett and Rob Williams.

Secretary, Lyn Skillern;

Treasurer, Alan McGuinness;

Archivists, Pat Spinks, Sonia Holt

Annual membership is $30 for individuals and $40 for families.

The museum at the Mechanics’ Institute is open Thursday and Friday afternoons, between noon and 4
pm (or on request). Entry by donation

The society’s origins

The Society was formed in 1964 to conserve the history of Leongatha and District and publish
material on the history of the area. The Society met in a room at the Memorial Hall, in private homes and at the Leongatha Community House until 1983. In August 1983 the Society, which was by then known as the Woorayl Shire Historical Society, obtained the use of the Leongatha Mechanics’ Institute as a home.

This beautiful building was constructed in 1912 and is a fine example of the architecture of the time. The three spacious rooms have pressed metal ceilings and the front room has exquisite stained glass windows. The interior walls are unique being made of river reeds and plaster.  The large rear section was a billiard room used by many in the community from 1912 to 1982. Since moving into the Mechanics’ Institute, a museum has been established and many interesting displays related to the area’s history have been mounted.

The Society had another name change in 1995 when the Woorayl Shire became part of the South Gippsland Shire. An extensive collection of photographs, documents, textiles, clothing and other artefacts are stored in the Mechanics’ Institute. The research material is available for use by the general public.

As a Place of Deposit (P.O.D.) of the Public Records Office of Victoria the Society is able to look after community records no longer required by the Shire and other organisations.

About us

President Vice President Secretary Treasurer Archivist
Robert Sage John Hyett Lyn Skillern Alan McGuinness Pat Spinks
        Sonia Holt

Contact Us

Contacts Email Phone
Lyn 0400349 048 At the room 03 5662 2492 Thursdays and Friday PM only
Pat 03 5668 6365    

4MenClearingLand8Bellinghams (1)